Runt Catalog

News Labels Artists Catalog About Contact Exclusives
Runt > Catalog >Wake Up '\_/-View Cart | Ordering Help | Site Map

Wake Up

Happy Eggs, The

Artists Name: Happy Eggs, The
Title: Wake Up
Limited Edition: Only 500 Total Units
Format: 7 45 rpm Clear Vinyl
Price: $9.98  (All prices include shipping.)
Availability:  In Stock
Catalog Number:500
Return Eligibility: NON-RETURNABLE
Additional Musical Category Notes:

Show Cart View Cart Or Checkout  
Unleashed upon an unsuspecting public in 1981, DBK Works is proud to re-release in a very special limited edition of 500, the extremely rare 4 song EP by Charlotte N.C.'s The Happy Eggs! The brainchild of guitarist and power pop maestro Jamie Hoover (Spongetones), and fueled by long time pals - drummer Gil Ray (Game Theory & Rain Parade) and keyboardist Murphy Moore - plus bassist and "silent" Egg, Kenny Phillips (only because they didn't give him a microphone), this was a perfect blending of twisted punk and new wave the likes of which Charlotte had never heard before.

The original and rare pressing on OVO Records has long been out of print. But here it is in all of its glory remastered (from the analog tapes) on "raw egg" clear colored vinyl!

A true collaboration turned into twisted reality by Jamie's production and arrangement skills, this is nightmare music at it's finest. Sweet dreams! "We ride the bus!" Recorded at Charlotte's infamous Reflection Sound Studios and engineered by the fabulous Mark Williams.

•Jamie Hoover - best known for his 30 year plus tenure with The Spongetones, and his collaboration with Jamie and Steve, his production credits run long and deep, from Bob Lind, Terry Draper (Klaatu!), Robert Crenshaw and many others. Also a prolific sideman, performing with The Smithereens, Graham Parker, Don Dixon and Hootie and the Blowfish.
•Gil Ray - was fortunate to have played with Game Theory, The Loud Family and currently with Rain Parade.
•Murphy Moore - brought the nightmare to the Egg's sound. Eventually becoming an awesome blues guitarist.
•Kenny Phillips - solid bass player that put up with these guys!

Track Listing
Side A

Wake Up


Side B

And Sons Of Baskerville

Fat Man

Additional Technical Information Available For This Album
Release Format: 7            
Vinyl Speed: 45 rpm
Vinyl Color: Clear

Cookie is :
All text and graphics © 2000-2010 Runt - All Rights Reserved
This page was last updated: 05/17/24